Winners of the Academic All-Star Scholarships were announced this week in Hot Springs at the annual conference of Arkansas Community Colleges (ACC).
Governor Asa Hutchinson presented the keynote address at a brunch honoring the 22 student scholarship winners. The students were awarded a full-tuition transfer scholarship to any A-kansas public, four-year university to complete their bachelor’s degree. The combined total for the scholarships is estimated to be more than $500,000.
“These scholarships will enable our highest-achieving students to reach for their dreams at any of Arkansas’s public, four-year universities,” said Andrea Henderson, ACC Executive Director. “Many of these students are not only working hard to maintain excellent grades but are also adding jobs and parenthood to their list of responsibilities, which makes their accomplishments even more impressive. These students deserve our recognition, and these scholarships are a fantastic way to help them achieve their goals.”
Each of the 22 public, two-year colleges, names one student as an “Academic All-Star.” These students maintain a cumulative grade point average of no less than 3.25 out of a possible 4.0 and are outstanding campus and community leaders.
The 22 member institutions of ACC, located throughout the state, serve more than 60,000 Arkansans per year through educational programs, technical training, continuing education, and customized workforce training for today’s business and industry.
Academic All-Stars locally include, from Ozarka. College, Sarah Kirby, from University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville, Samantha Wilson.