State Sen. James Sturch of Batesville is one of 20 state government officials nationwide who have been chosen to receive the “20 Under 40 Leadership Award” from the Council of State Governments.
The award is presented to young leaders who demonstrate the ability achieve consensus, produce results and serve the public. They are selected from a competitive pool of applicants from all states and all three branches of government. Sturch was presented the award at the 2022 CSG National Conference in Honolulu, Hawaii.
“This is quite an honor, to be recognized for doing what I love to do,” Sturch said. “It’s especially gratifying to be recognized by a national organization that prioritizes public service and that promotes the highest ideals of representative government.”
Sturch’s nomination was supported by Senator Jimmy Hickey, Jr., the President Pro Tempore of the Arkansas Senate, who said that Sturch’s “leadership style and dedication to serving others has been exemplary, and he brings a refreshing level of professionalism, poise and devotion to every endeavor.”
“He commands a room and any podium he assumes. He is a natural leader who facilitates effective and efficient meetings and proceedings,” Hickey said of Sturch.
His colleagues in the Arkansas Senate showed their confidence in Sturch’s abilities during the 2021 legislative session, when he was called upon to preside over the chamber when Hickey or the Lieutenant Governor were away.
Sturch was often asked to preside over the Senate during its most difficult moments, such as when debate became emotional over controversial legislation. Sturch’s calm leadership style and innate sense of fairness quickly reduced the tension in the chamber.
The Council of State Governments was founded in 1933 to foster the exchange of ideas among state officials across the nation, with the goal of solving issues and developing leadership through collaboration and partnership.
Sturch has represented Senate District 19 since 2019. Previously, he served in the House of Representatives for four years.